{{:: 'cloud_flare_always_on_short_message' | i18n }}
Check @genius for updates. We'll have things fixed soon.

Hippo Campus

About Hippo Campus

Hippo Campus is an indie rock band from St. Paul, Minnesota. The band is comprised of Jake Luppen (lead singer and guitarist), Nathan Stocker (guitarist and vocalist), Zach Sutton (bassist), and Whistler Allen (drummer and vocalist). The four met in high school at Saint Paul Conservatory for Performing Artists, all playing in different bands, before joining together in 2013. The band name comes from Stocker, who was reading a psychology text book and split the word hippocampus in two to “give it sort of a double entendre”.

Early years of the band saw members often using nicknames: Luppen is Turntan, Stocker is Stitches, Sutton is Espo, and Allen is Beans.

The full-length album Landmark, which was released in the dawn of 2017, along three EPs: Bashful Creatures, which was self-released in 2014, South, released under Grand Jury Records in 2015 and Warm Glow released in September of 2017.

2018 saw a slight change to Hippo Campus' music, with the single “Passenger” dabbling more into the ambient scene. The second single, “Bambi” mimicked this style, and also announced the band’s sophomore album, Bambi.